Network Bar
Breadcrumbs
  • Home
  • »  Admission and Advising

Admission and Advising


Advising


The Nicole Wertheim College of Nursing & Health Sciences (NWCNHS) advisors are here to help guide you through your student experience at FIU with our ultimate goal being completion of your degree and graduation from FIU.

 

Pre-Admission Graduate Nursing Advising


Pre-admission Graduate Nursing Advising is provided through various graduate nursing units of the NWCNHS located at the Nursing & Health Sciences Building (AHC 3) on the Modesto A. Maidique (MMC) Campus in Southwest Miami-Dade County.

Please note the room locations, emails, and phone numbers for the respective advisors.

Location: MMC Campus, 11200 SW 8th Street, Miami, FL 33199 | AHC 3 Building

Office Hours: M-F | 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. (unless otherwise posted)

MSN Nurse Practitioner AHC3 – Rm 126 305-348-7703 (follow prompts)
Nancy Viera nviera@fiu.edu By Appointment
MSN Nurse Anesthesia AHC3 – Rm 342 305-348-7747
Mairelys De La Guardia guardiam@fiu.edu By Appointment
Doctor of Nursing Practice AHC3 – Rm 125 305-348-7703 (follow prompts)
Nancy Viera nviera@fiu.edu By Appointment
Dr. Yhovana Gordon gordony@fiu.edu By Appointment
Doctoral (PhD; BSN-to-PhD) AHC3 – Rm 520 305-348-7718
Karen Iglesias kiglesia@fiu.edu By Appointment


In-Program Graduate Nursing Advising 


Once admitted to a program, students will be assigned a Faculty Advisor from the respective graduate unit:

MSN Degree & Certificates (305) 348-7748 (by appointment)
Dr. Deana Goldin degoldin@fiu.edu Family NP & Certificate
Dr. Lucie Dlugasch ldlugasc@fiu.edu Adult NP & Certifícate
Dr. Yhovana Gordon gordony@fiu.edu Nursing Education Certificate
MSN Nurse Anesthesia (305) 348-7747
Dr. Jeffery Groom groomj@fiu.edu By Appointment
Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) (305) 348-6992
Dr. Yhovana Gordon gordony@fiu.edu By Appointment
Doctoral (PhD, or BSN to PhD) (305) 348-7715
Dr. Dorothy Brooten brooten@fiu.edu By Appointment

 

The following sections contain more information about the admissions and application requirements specific to each graduate nursing program, clinical education objectives, student policies and procedures, tuition costs and more.

NOTE: Students transferring into any of the programs of the FIU Nursing Graduate should consult the University Graduate School policy on credit transfers accepted.