Network Bar


  • Dr. Alliete Alfano's manuscript "Communication Between Spanish-Speaking Mothers and Their Children with Hearing Loss Who Use ASL" has been accepted for publication in Communication Disorders Quarterly.
  • Congratulations to Dr. Jean Hannan on being elected Treasurer of Sigma XI, the Scientific Honor Society!
  • Clinical Instructor Mark Fonseca, STAR Center Coordinator and Jessica ‘Jea’ Caampued, Simulation Coordinator/Lead Facilitator have successfully achieved the Certified Healthcare Simulation Educator (CHSE) designation through the Society for Simulation in Healthcare
  • Dr. Trudy Gaillard Appointed Interim Associate Dean of Academic Affairs for FIU Nicole Wertheim College of Nursing and Health Sciences.
  • Florida Board of Governors approved the FIU clinical Doctor of Athletic Training degree program. Congratulations Dr. Jennifer Doherty-Restrepo and the entire Department!
  • NWCNHS wins the Florida Nurses Association President’s Award for exemplary service and contributions to the success of the Florida Nurses Association (FNA). The award was announced at the awards ceremony during the FNA conference in Orlando, FL on September 29, 2017.
  • Dr. Derrick Glymph appointed to the rank of Colonel in the United States Army Reserves and serves as Chief Anesthetist of the 7456th Medical Backfill Battalion, USAR.
  • Congratulations to Dr. Tami Thomas who was recently notified that the HRSA ANEW proposal has been awarded a $1.39 Million. It is titled, "Rural Traineeships for Graduate Nursing." The project period is July 1, 2017 - June 30, 2019.
  • The American Psychiatric Nurses Association (APNA) has accepted Tatayana Maltseva’s abstract entitled " Inter-professional Collaboration to Promote LGBTQ Mental Health Care to Reduce Healthcare Disparities:  Are Nursing Students Educated to Provide Sensitive Quality Care to Improve Health Care Outcomes of LGBTQ Individuals?"for a podium presentation at the 30th Annual Conference this October in Hartford, Connecticut. 
  • Dr. JoAnne M. Youngblut, Dr. Dorothy Brooten, Joy Glaze, Teresita Promise & Dr. Changwon Yoo's manuscript entitled Parent Grief 1–13 Months after Death in Neonatal/Pediatric Intensive Care Units was accepted for publication in Journal of Loss and Trauma.